» » The Pentangle - The Pentangle "Live"

The Pentangle - The Pentangle "Live" download mp3 album

The Pentangle - The Pentangle "Live" download mp3 album
The Pentangle "Live"
FLAC vers. size:
1198 mb
MP3 vers. size:
1372 mb
WMA vers. size:
1580 mb
Other formats
4.7 ★

The Pentangle was the 1968 debut album of the band Pentangle: Terry Cox, Bert Jansch, Jacqui McShee, John Renbourn and Danny Thompson. It brought together their separate influences of folk, jazz, blues, early music and contemporary songwriting. One of the band's most commercially successful albums, it reached number 21 in the British charts.

Pentangle (or The Pentangle) are a British folk-jazz band with an eclectic mix of folk, jazz, blues and folk rock influences. The original band was active in the late 1960s and early 1970s, and a later version has been active since the early 1980s. The original line-up, which was unchanged throughout the band's first incarnation (1967–1973), was: Jacqui McShee (vocals); John Renbourn (vocals and guitar); Bert Jansch (vocals and guitar); Danny Thompson (double bass); and Terry Cox (drums).

Pentangle, along with Fairport Convention, were one of the shining lights in the modernisation of British folk music in the 1960s. Rather than adding elements of rock music, however, they leaned toward jazz, supplementing twin acoustic guitars with jazzy drums and acoustic bass. In the UK, the band is probably best remembered for providing 'Light Flight' as the theme to the BBC drama series 'Take Three Girls'.

PENTANGLE played a mixture of Jazz and Folk with Blues-elements, influences that the band integrated in their debut record 'The Pentangle' which was produced by Shel Talmy. The same year PENTANGLE released their second record 'Sweet child' a double LP consisting of live and studio tracks and containing among others two compositions by Charlie Mingus 'Haitian Fight Song' and 'Goodbye Pork Pie hat'. The PENTANGLE records recorded between 1968 and 1972 are highly recommended. Finale is a live album that consists of the original folk/jazz/bues rock pioneering Pentangle members, Bert Jansch, John Renbourn, Terry Cox, Danny Thompson and Jacqui McShee, that was recorded during a summer reunion tour in 2008, but not released until this year. Guitarists Jansch and Renbourn have now both, sadly, passed away.

Album Name The Pentangle. Released date May 1968. Labels Transatlantic Records. Music StyleProg Folk. Members owning this album2. 1. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme. 6. Way Behind The Sun. 7. Bruton Town.

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Market Song
Written-By – Jansch*, Thompson*, McShee*, Renbourn*, Cox*
A2 No More My Lord
Arranged By – Jansch*, Thompson*, McShee*, Renbourn*, Cox*Written-By – Traditional
A3 Turn Your Money Green
Written-By – Furry Lewis
A4 Haïtian Fight Song
Written-By – C. Mingus*
A5 A Woman Like You
Written-By – Jansch*
A6 Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
Written-By – C. Mingus*
B1 Three Dances: Brentzel Gay - La Rotta - The Earle Of Salisbury
Arranged By [Brentzel Gay] – Renbourn*, Cox*Arranged By [La Rotta] – McShee*, Renbourn*Written-By [Brentzel Gay] – C. Gervaise*Written-By [La Rotta] – TraditionalWritten-By [The Earl Of Salisbury] – William Byrd
B2 Watch The Stars
Arranged By – McShee*, Renbourn*Written-By – Traditional
B3 So Early In The Spring
Arranged By – McShee*Written-By – Traditional
B4 No Exit
Written-By – Jansch*, Renbourn*
B5 The Time Has Come
Written-By – Ann Briggs*
B6 Bruton Town
Arranged By – Jansch*, Thompson*, McShee*, Renbourn*, Cox*Written-By – Traditional

Companies, etc.

  • Licensed To – N.V. Bovema
  • Manufactured By – N.V. Bovema
  • Printed By – NV Habo Amsterdam
  • Recorded By – Transatlantic Records Ltd.
  • Recorded At – Royal Festival Hall


  • Acoustic Guitar, Vocals – Bert Jansch, John Renbourn
  • Band – The Pentangle*
  • Double Bass – Danny Thompson
  • Drums, Glockenspiel, Vocals – Terry Cox
  • Engineer – Damon Lyon-Shaw
  • Producer – Shel Talmy
  • Vocals – Jacqui McShee


Recorded Royal Festival Hall, London - 29 June 1968. A Shel Talmy Production. A "Transatlantic" recording.
The sleeve notes are in Dutch only.

Note 1: This is in fact the first disc from Sweet Child
Note 2: The musician credits are taken from the sleeve notes and Sweet Child
Note 3: The release year is derived from the sleeve notes as this year 'holds promises for the future';
and because the recording took place mid 1968 as was the release of Sweet Child

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BIEM
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A - label - between brackets): TRA 178 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B - label - between brackets): TRA 178 B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A - runout - stamped): TRA 178 A1 E 1 (E 1 = upside down)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B - runout - stamped): TRA 178 B2 E 1 (E 1 = upside down)