» » The Baby Snakes - This City Sucks

The Baby Snakes - This City Sucks download mp3 album

The Baby Snakes - This City Sucks download mp3 album
This City Sucks
Indie Rock
FLAC vers. size:
1557 mb
MP3 vers. size:
1456 mb
WMA vers. size:
1763 mb
Other formats
4.5 ★

Baby Snakes is a film which includes footage from Frank Zappa's 1977 Halloween concert at New York City's Palladium Theater, backstage antics from the crew, and stop motion clay animation from award-winning animator Bruce Bickford. Initially, the film had particular difficulty finding a distributor. Frank Zappa tried to interest United Artists, the company that released 200 Motels, but they declined.

The Baby Snakes were an Irish rock band formed in 1985. The original line-up featured Frank Rynne, Niall O'Sullivan and Johnny Bonney. In October 1985 they recorded a radio session for Dave Fanning's RTÉ radio show and reached No. 13 in Fanning's Fab 50, an end-of-year listeners poll, in December 1985. Sweet Hunger, featured Brian Downey from Thin Lizzy on drums. was produced by Dave Goodman

The Baby Snakes released the "This City Sucks" live cassette and left Dublin for London in 1988, where they remained until their break up 1993. The band in the book is called The Subliminal Kids, a reference to the first Baby Snakes EP. New Zealander Jeff Nilson became the bands drummer circa 1989 and plays on the 'Rebel Radio' album released in 1990. This incarnation of the Baby Snakes played many gigs in North London, including one at the Mean fiddler with Jeffrey Lee Pierce (The Gun Club) playing harmonica. Pierce was reputedly set to produce the group's next record in 1991 but Nigel Preston landed in prison (for armed robbery) in 1990 and these plans fell through. All in all, about 20 studio tracks and 12 live tracks were recorded during this period, and these remain unreleased. Songs for Subliminal Kids EP 7" - Santides Records - SAN 0057 - IRL – 1987. This City Sucks (live) - Cassette FOAD Records - ?? - January 1988. Sweet Hunger LP FOAD Records - FOAD 7 - June 1988 Produced by Ian Bryon and Paul Thomas.

CommunitySee all. 4,713 people like this. 4,674 people follow this. AboutSee All. 41573467. Contact Baby Snakes on Messenger.

Psychedelic Rock Frank Zappa. 4. The Black Page 5. Jones Crusher. 6. Disco Boy. 7. Dinah-Moe-Humm.

The track "Baby Snakes" is the studio recording which appears on Sheik Yerbouti, but omits the opening riff (instead starting at the first verse). All other tracks are live recordings, unique to this album and the film. The Palladium, New York City.

Title: Baby Snakes (1979). Actually it is three movies in one: a concert-film, a documentary (indeed rockumentary) and, last but not least, an animation artwork featuring the stunning claymation done by Bruce Bickford. A little bit you can find on the same named soundtrack album. You also see a lot of backstage scenes, funny looking audiences entering the concert-hall and so on, which i would describe as the documentary part of the movie. And finally there is a lot of wonderful clay-animation done by Bruce Bickford, it is not to much in relation to the playing time of the disc, but maybe caused the most hours of work for manufacturing this movie. If you are fair, you shouldn't wonder if Bickford was the second name on the DVD-case.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 You're Gonna Miss Me
Songwriter – Roky Erickson
2 Prophet
3 Little Sisters
4 Maggot Express
5 Gloria
Songwriter – Van Morrison


Recorded At JJ Smyths by The Recording Company, Summer 1987 Ltd To 300 copies.